New Year

Standard

I am soo excited for this school year! First of all, I have two kids in “real school” which is soo great, and so crazy all at the same time! I pretty much have ZERO social life during the week because of it, but so worth it. I have to be at the school 3 times in 6 hours lol. Next year will be easier when both kids are all day. I am loving this new chapter of having more KIDS than BABIES! Which means more meaningful, in depth conversations at dinner instead of constant manners reminders and wiping up messes, getting to do more fun things that they will remember forever, and most importantly, kids that can wake up and feed themselves breakfast lol :). Ethan is still my earliest waker at 6:30 so I am up anyway, but hey I’m only making breakfast for 2 not 4 🙂

 

First day of 3rd grade

Kindergarten Belieber

 


Tonight we had curriculum night and I was blown away! I had heard that Westerville schools were good, but Jer has struggled ALOT the last two years with being bored and acting out a lot in class b/c of it, so I had started looking into private schools (too much $$ btw and homeschooling is just not an option since I don’t have the gift of teaching full time and I think school is a great part of childhood). Well, this year he was placed in an all gifted class.  At the end of last year I received a letter saying that he was testing at the gifted level, and that would impact his classes for next year. I pictured him leaving the normal class for reading and math to go to “TAG” or gifted work. Instead they clumped a bunch of the gifted third graders in one class that is smaller, works at a faster pace, and higher level. HE IS DOING SO WELL!!! I am so happy! He has yet to complain of boredom, comes home with lots of challenging homework for us to work on together, and is loving the competitive environment in his classroom. His teacher is very no-nonsense which I was apprehensive about at first, but now see he needs that more than a bubbly high energy type (ie me and his teacher last year). At the beginning of the year, like in previous years, his class started journaling. Well a couple weeks ago, I stopped seeing journals come home, and came to find out tonight THEY BLOG!! To me that is mind blowing!! MY kid, a blogger??? WOAH!! I can’t wait to get the info tomorrow so I can log on and read up! They do book reviews,  science research, as well as personal thoughts! His school is going completely paperless (also new to me tonight), so they are doing math “worksheets” and the like on Ipods! I think I’m going to be out tech-savvied by my 8 year old lol.

 

I have already talked to and met Ava’s teacher several times before tonight, but I got to see all their centers and work for the first time! I am crazy about her teacher b/c she is the sweetest, most energetic lady EVER!!! (but really are there any kindergarten teachers who aren’t sweet and energetic? Well, wait Jer’s kindergarten teacher was a 35 year old black guy who was super cool and I loved him b/c Jer loved him for his blackness….weird I know but seriously Jer would try to dress like him and commented all the time about how Mr. Wall knew how to do black hair like his better than I did lol). Anyway, Ava totally lit up getting to be the center of attention and give all of us a tour of her classroom and show off things she had written and created. We also got to meet her classroom pets, a hermit crab, two caterpillars (one who was in its chrysalis which was so sweet to see), and a beta fish! She also gave me a 5 minute talk on inertia while we were at one of the centers, which I’m pretty sure she learned about on Sid the Science Kid the other day and not at school, but whatever. Side note: (I want to remember this ALWAYS) I sing my kids the “I love my mom, my mom is cool, but now its time for having fun at school, YEA” song from that show EVERYDAY on the way to school before we pray and it drives them nuts! However, it also makes them laugh hysterically so a good way to part in my opinion :).  They are also doing new sight words every week, and have a reading shoe box which she made at the beginning of the year and they keep all the books that they “make” (color) and can read perfectly in. She is loving getting to be at school and have homework just like her big brother. I am loving how the mouthiness has toned down A LOT since school started. She talks all the time about how her teacher talks about being respectful of adults and courteous of when others are talking. Ummm haven’t I been trying to implement these for the last 5 years? Guess that’s why they say it takes a village, right?

Great start to the year, and I can’t wait to watch the two of them grow as it goes on. Did I mention how much I LOVE having one on one time with Ethan in the afternoons?? Some days he naps the whole time which is great b/c I can do a ton of house work and SHOWER and other days he naps before Ava goes and we play whatever he wants the entire time and I love being able to play and focus totally on him with no interruptions! And today I started Potty training. He’s been super interested the last couple weeks, and I’ve just been putting it off b/c I have horrid memories of trying to train Jer, so I just thought boys were later trainers than girls, but he’s acting ready and is super excited when he goes, so I’m going for it! Going to skip over the pull ups phase and plopped him right in big boy undies this afternoon and no accidents yet! I put him in a dipe for bed b/c really he’s way to young to hold it all night, yet. Could I really be done with diapers forever?? YES, PLEASE 🙂

I am really focusing on living in the moment at all times right now, since I am becoming so aware of how fast these sweet babies of mine will grow up, and not trying to look too far ahead. I am reading the best book right now for the millionth time called “Just Enough Light for the Step I’m On.” Great reminder to dwell on the present moment where God has placed you and trust fully that He’s got the rest covered. We are to do are best with the opportunities and moments He gives us, and let Him handle the big picture! (not that we should be lazy bums, He definitely requires that we should work hard toward our goals, but I mean learning to not fret over the little crap that doesn’t matter.) It’s great advice in my marriage too! Just focusing on being with Wes when he’s home and not worrying about how long I have until he goes out of town again, or if he’s going to get any of the house projects done, just enjoying. 🙂 Obviously, I don’t do this all the time and flip out over stupid stuff that I feel terrible for after, but a work in progress. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

